I’m Back

Posted on

​It has been six months since I  took a detour and fell off  the earth. Trust me when I exclaim “What a roller-coaster it has been.” Retiring from the Navy completely filled my plate, and turned my world upside-down. As stressful as it was, I am proud to say, “I did it.” 

I have grown a lot and have walked away wiser. (Not Gandolf wiser, but still wiser.)

We relocated to Jacksonville NC.  Why Jacksonville?  Well, after the love of my life followed me for twenty years, it was her turn to pick a spot to settle down in. Being an East coast girl, she chose anywhere within a short drive of the Atlantic. We knew I would need VA assistance, so a military town seemed to fit the bill. Upon arriving,  my mind was blown away at how nice everyone was. People actually held the door open for each other and say, “Thank you.” This isn’t Mayberry, but it’s close. After checking into a hotel, I was off to find a job. I followed up on the resumes  I sent out before arriving. This led to a huge disappointment. It appeared the employment rate was much lower than what the media was reporting. Using Indeed and LinkedIn, I scoured for anything I remotely qualified for. After a quick seasrch, I landed my job from a job fair. I highly recommend going to these when searching for employment. 

Next on the agenda was buying a house. We looked and looked, toured and toured, shopped, and you guessed it, shopped.  Then it happened. After finding a great house, in a quiet neighborhood,  and fitting both of our requirements, we found ourselves waiting on a short-sale. I’m not sure why they call them short-sales. They aren’t. Any who, after dropping the short sale and moving, we finally came across this simple, quiet, one-acre lot with a 90’s single story ranch-style house. I jumped on it, while wifey was hesitant. Long story short, we moved in two weeks ago. We both love this quaint little home. It’s close to the ocean and thirty minutes from work. 

I’m glad everything turned out as well as it did. It appears that we may have found our “forever-home”.It’s good to be back.

4 thoughts on “I’m Back

    g said:
    March 15, 2017 at 4:29 am

    right on brother, enjoy the dream

    Liked by 1 person

    geekkat said:
    March 15, 2017 at 4:49 am

    Welcome back!! Sounds like you have had an interesting 6 months. At least you’ve found a job and a nice home. Sound like your set.:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Michael kissel said:
    March 15, 2017 at 10:30 am

    Great to hear, enjoy this time. Don’t ever hesitate to ask questions.

    Liked by 1 person

    Gabe said:
    March 15, 2017 at 10:40 am

    Well done well written.

    Life has ups and downs rocky and smooth roads.

    You will always be you no one can take away your knowledge.

    iPhone message, excuse brevity and typos.

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

