Timeline Tenacity

Posted on

image

Retiring from my first career has brought an onslaught of mixed emotions. Some days I feel excited about the change and other days are filled with fear and anxiety. This is the normality of dealing with a life altering stress. Utilizing a timeline has kept me grounded and focussed. I cannot count the mornings that I have woken up in fear of my retirement. The concrete fact that my steady and secure life style was about to be uprooted sent chills down my spine. By taking the time to schedule each priority and sticking to that schedule I alleviated a lot of my stress. The second part of keeping my head straight came by staying flexible. I had to work within everyone’s schedule. Simply put, I could not make people operate on my schedule. They had their timeline of events and I had to fit myself in at their convenience, not mine.

Life is constantly changing with each day, week, month and year. When an event comes along and uproots our schedule, it is vital to evaluate and make a timeline of events to accomplish. Keep it simple and prepare to change it one hundred times. Every time anxiety strikes, refer to this timeline and reassure yourself that everything is on time. It’s like a grown-up security blanket.

In the military we like to joke that “We are never on schedule, but we’re always on time.” How true that is. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Timeline Tenacity

    DailyMusings said:
    July 4, 2016 at 5:37 am

    Sage advice

    Like

    […] via Timeline Tenacity — stevenjcurtis […]

    Liked by 1 person

    Think Loud by Aida said:
    July 4, 2016 at 7:54 am

    Im not from military but also glad I retired early.

    Liked by 1 person

    radlegend said:
    July 4, 2016 at 9:24 am

    Great post and i love the advice! I’m in a similar situation – i work according to someone else’s timeline (work-wise) and it’s always frustrating! Having a plan and time-line will definitely help going forward!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

