Another Step Closer to being published

Posted on

image

This week I send my book out for review. I have spent the last six months composing a scifi novel. This adventure has been an epic learning experience.  Here is what I’ve been through so far. Experienced authors, prepare for flashbacks. 🙂
Writing
To be honest, it felt like 3 months of writing (quick,simple,and joyful), and 3 months of editing, rewriting, re-editing, just to find that I need to rewrite some more. The cute little key, F7, became my bane for a while. It felt as though every sentence contained a passive voice. There were days that I could only stand to look at this book for five minutes at a time. It seemed, at times, I would pick up the book just to set it back down. But like any long journey I kept moving forward.
Listening
I downloaded a free AI reader, and began to listen to my book. Because listening is easier on the eyes. Simple logic will have dire consequences. (Or not 🙂 ) At first this was amazing. To hear this book come alive was the best thing I could have ever done. Mistakes stood out like a sore thumb. Word repetition was my biggest offense followed by time line errors. I listened to this book until my ears bled. Seriously, at one point I had the reader going as fast as I could comprehend it. Chipmunks were screaming in my ears as the reader zinged through page after page. It was incredible how fast the brain could hear, comprehend,  then evaluate. Listening at a normal pace revealed the ‘flow’ of the book. I made a lot of changes here as well.
Readers
Now, I am at that pinacle part where I  send my work off to be evaluated. These scifi guru’s know what they want. Hopefully I have something that meets their expectations. As the suggestions come in, I will look for common denominators in their reviews and make corrections accordingly.

I have seven more books lined up for this series. I’m hoping that the procedure will get easier. This is the first book that I will have published. I would love to have these books on Kindle and Nook. Only thing is, I am not sure of the legalities of using multiple publishers.

At any rate, this has been a great learning experience. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Another Step Closer to being published

    lcwallingham said:
    April 11, 2016 at 9:14 am

    Congrats and good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    Patricia Ann said:
    April 13, 2016 at 6:54 pm

    Good luck, Steven, I went through this in 2014. It is really very exciting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

