Slow down and DIRTFT

Posted on

image

It’s alright to live slow. All we eed to do is leave for work early and plan for delays.  Are we stuck in traffic or are we afforded a chance to listen to some books. For the past week I have listened to an audio version of the book I’m writing (bonus editing time). I love slow traffic because it affords me an opportunity to learn. This would have never came about if I had not slowed down and looked at where I was. We can always capitalize on our position in life. These are the hidden blessings all around us that we often overlook.

Yes, I’m that guy driving the speed limit. I’m the guy that walks slow in Walmart. I’m that guy cheerfully whistling while I work. Life gets happier when we slow down. It affords us time to be courteous to each other. Humanity comes out to play. We treat others with kindness.

Time does not move faster today. People do. People are in such a rush that they try to accomplish everything faster. Is it any wonder that quality of the products has went down drastically? I am always telling people, in a calm voice, to take their time. It’s alright to slow down and do it right the first time (DIRTFT).

But, the person behind me is tailgating me. Turn on your hazards and reduce you speed by a couple mph. This gives off the signal that you are not going to go any faster. It is amazing how quick people will either back away or go around. When we slow down we get passed by those that are still in a rush. Stay in the slow lane and enjoy the music or my audio book (plug ๐Ÿ™‚ ). Being slower is not fashionable.  But, it is safer and less stressful. In today’s society, that’s driven by the clock, taking our time actually saves money.

In the event that you find yourself not being capable of slowing down, I implore you not to drive in Belle Chasse LA. People drive 40 in a 45 and the local authorities don’t mind it. ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Slow down and DIRTFT

    JojoBean said:
    March 21, 2016 at 6:41 am

    Totally agree ๐Ÿ™‚

    When a quad bike landed on me back in September 2014, I took it as a sign to slow down… I couldn’t walk much faster than a shuffle, and doing anything took ages. Life slowed down. And you know what? I got so much more done.

    Now, whenever I stub a toe, catch a finger in a door or paper cut myself, I know that it is a sign from the universe to tell me to slow the f*ck down…

    If you want to have a little laugh, or just find out how the quad bike landed on me, you can read here: https://theonehandedclap.wordpress.com/2015/03/17/a-quad-bike-landed-on-me/

    (…and Steven, if you do mind me putting a link in your comment section, do please let me know. I really do think though, that a lot of the stuff about which you write, I do also, but in a very different way – I just find it interesting, the different styles, I mean).

    Liked by 1 person

      stevenjcurtis responded:
      March 21, 2016 at 7:35 am

      I don’t mind it in moderation. Thanks for sharing. I loved reading your post. It was very relevant to this post and had me bracing for the impact. I hope your back is better and all is well ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

        JojoBean said:
        March 21, 2016 at 8:20 am

        Thanks you – yeah, I’m all good now; had a massive bruise on my thigh and hip for about 6 months… and my hip didn’t stop hurting till recently actually – but I got a tattoo over the area, in the form of a monkey, to remind me of this episode, to take things slower… still relevant now ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

