Foot Out, Fan’s On

Posted on

image

Yes, I am a hot sleeper.  If the world plunges into an ice age then my wife will be a lucky woman. Until then, “Sorry love”. I have no idea why my body radiates so much heat, but there are things that I do to help.

Keep the fan running. I have a small fan on the floor on my side of the bed. This helps in two ways. First off, the constant flow of air is great. This helps my body cool down by exploiting the basic laws of evaporation.  And secondly, because it is on the floor I don’t have to worry about my wife getting cold.  We both love having the air circulated at night. However, she cools off quicker than I do.

Skin is out. Sleeping in the buff makes it easier to expose the skin to the moving air. Sticking a foot out or uncovering  my chest while I sleep helps dramatically. Speaking of chest. Shaving the chest area greatly reduces the amount heat that is retained.

The last thing that I do is eat at least an hour before going to bed. When I eat my body fires up the old metabolism system and it can get like a furnace. By allowing for a digestive period, I reduce the chance of going to bed with a “hot stomach”. Another thing I do is sleep on a wedge pillow. How does this keep me cool? It help keep the digestive system going. Our digestive system relies on muscle and gravity to push everything along. Take away gravity and the digestive system is slowed and has to work harder. This leads to more heat over a longer period of time.

I have found that there are a lot of people that suffer from being a hot sleeper.  These are just a few remedies that work well for me. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Foot Out, Fan’s On

    geekkat said:
    March 9, 2016 at 7:57 am

    Yep and I am married to one as well…one benefit I am never cold in the winter time…lol!!

    Liked by 1 person

    lusitangled said:
    March 9, 2016 at 8:56 am

    My boyfriend says I’m a hot sleeper, but at first I’m quite cold. Usually, it’s not a problem, but he sweats a lot so it can be a bit sticky. We always leave the window at tad just so the air can flow.

    Liked by 1 person

    Laura said:
    March 9, 2016 at 11:23 am

    Very interesting! I’ll pass out on to my sister who says her hubby is this way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

