Individual Greatness

Posted on

image

I cannot comprehend media. The reports of racism is everywhere. Yet, I have not seen any racist activities in my neighborhood.  I do not watch television.  It’s full of propaganda and lies. We know this and yet we hang on every word of it.

I see people as individuals not people.  It is hard for me to look at a group because I am more interested in getting to know the people as individuals.  Everyone has an adventure waiting to be discovered.  I want to hear about the lessons learnt in life. People as a collective are not that interesting to me. I have met only a handful of individuals that were not worth my time. It was their actions that constituted my disdain, not the color of their skin.

Media has a sick view of the world. Maybe I am blind to racism.  It wouldn’t be the first time someone has told me that. Perhaps my accusers are blind to the kindness around us. We all know kindness doesn’t sell ratings. Media is in the market of making money. Hate sells. So anamosity gets displayed. What fills our eyes, fills our hearts. Is it any wonder that we go through our day helping each other thinking that everyone is hating us. We need to stop listening to propaganda. Turn the TV off, stop listening to shock jocks on the radio, and stop reposting hate memes on social media.

Individually we are already living a great life. We treat others with the respect that we believe we deserve. We should not allow a vail of anamosity to be placed over our eyes. This is why I focus on us individually. Because individually we are treating each other correctly.

3 thoughts on “Individual Greatness

    Kris said:
    February 29, 2016 at 1:07 pm

    I agree that a lot of hate is perpetuated by misconceptions, unfair bias, stereotypes, and a lot of sensationalism in the media. However, racism, xenophobia, and sexism does exist. You may not see it in your specific neighborhood, but that does not mean that it is not happening in other neighborhoods. I live and work in two very different neighbors and from my interactions within those communities I have come to understand that I have been relatively free of experiences involving my race or ethnicity because I am part of the majority. That privilege allows me to have a lifestyle and choices that are not always allowed in other groups. However, I have had first hand experience of how my gender is perceived, discussed, and objectified by a lot of individuals and groups who have no right to live my life or make my choices.

    I do think you make a good point in stating that it begins with kindness. We can do a lot to break down barriers, create understanding, and foster empathy within others when we practice purposeful kindness.

    Liked by 1 person

    Ann Coleman said:
    February 29, 2016 at 3:06 pm

    I think that racism exists, but not to the extreme that we keep hearing about. People tend to see what they already believe, I think. And the more we can see other people as individuals, the more we understand and care about them. And truly valuing and caring about other people goes a long way towards eliminating racism. Just my opinion….

    Liked by 1 person

    anishagold said:
    March 1, 2016 at 10:14 am

    Very insightful. 👏🏽

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

