My Life Without Children

Posted on

image

Children are great. They’re annoying, loud, destructive and expensive. Any parent that says different is in denial.  But they are our children.  It’s the miracle of watching them develop into adults that makes all of the bad seem alright.  We watch them struggle through their failures.  We encourage them to keep trying until they finally look at us and say “I did it!”

That sense of pride is one of the best feelings in the world.

I will not have children.  My wife and I  are not able to. People have said that we should adopt, see a doctor, or my favorite seek counseling. People can be so repugnant at times. My wife and I have been afforded the opportunity to live life without children.  We are the happiest couple that you will ever meet. It isn’t because we don’t have children. It’s because we have had time to focus on each other. Children get in the way of that. They need that attention. We will neglect our spouses to tend to our children’s wants and needs.  This is the reality of being a responsible parent. 

“You don’t understand.  You don’t have children.” A lot of people have told me this. I cannot explain how callus these words are. Rude and uncouth begins the description.  I love my life. And my comprehension skills are better than most. I console people everyday. Those that put too much on their plate need someone like me “who wouldn’t understand.” Most people couldn’t comprehend being 40 something with no children. Imagine having 19 years to get to know someone. As life changes, they change as well. We both have changed and grown together.

Sure, children are great, but not having children is great as well. So if you know a couple that don’t have children, don’t encourage them to have children. Allow them to enjoy each other.  I have never tried to encourage a parent to sell their children to the gypsies.

OBTW gypsies are great people and they don’t buy children 🙂

5 thoughts on “My Life Without Children

    DailyMusings said:
    February 16, 2016 at 5:47 am

    My husband and I chose not to have children and have been met with the same repugnant(what an excellent use of the word) replies. Made worse because we actually consciously made this decision so they think there is surely something wrong with us. We have spent 25 years together (with the exception of 2 dogs) focusing on each other, and living a full and happy life minus the kids. I wrote about in a blog entitled “Happy I’m Not A Mothers Day” when everyone was writing about the joys of mothers on their day. I don’t tell anyone how to live, I would like the same respect afforded to me in the children making decision department. Great post

    Liked by 2 people

    DailyMusings said:
    February 16, 2016 at 5:54 am
    msksmiles said:
    February 16, 2016 at 5:57 am

    I totally agree. I am a father of a 20 day old baby boy, and must tell you that we both have been blessed. At the same breadth, I would like to emphasize that life is all about living with distinction. And, children or no children, you still have to fight odds every day, love your spouse and be the human being you are. And, we must be very proud of it. Life has too many good things in it to start thinking otherwise. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    lcwallingham said:
    February 16, 2016 at 12:14 pm

    I am a mom and I love my kids and my life. And you are absolutely right. They demand so much so I cannot imagine telling anyone who does not have them that they should. Its a huge undertaking that will at very least be a deciding factor in pretty much everything you do for the rest of your life. Why would anyone insist others should do that at any and all costs?

    Liked by 1 person

    tinakmeyer said:
    February 17, 2016 at 1:28 am

    I am in the process of realising and living the opportunities that forced childlessness brings. You are quite right – they are both equally amazing paths for very different reasons and that should be okay. Sad that so many people seek to build their choices up by judging the choices of others.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

