Because stretching feels so good :)

Posted on Updated on

image

Stretching creates such a great feeling within our muscles. But, there is another upside to stretching that the medical field seems to only whisper about.  It turns out that stretching can help with arthritis. The sooner we begin to stretch on a regular basis, the more we prevent arthritis.

Our ligaments are like rubber bands. If we stretch a rubber band out when it is cold, it has less elasticity than it does after being stretched out a few times. Likewise, our ligaments  will have more range of motion after stretching.

Ligaments help connect our joints together. They also pull joints tighter when they are not stretched and warmed up. This tightness causes the joint to rub and inflame.  This is what produces arthritic conditions.

Medication is synonymous with arthritis. Well, not exactly, but when we hear the word arthritis, medication is usually mentioned as well. Sure, I could go into a whole conspiracy-theory escapade that lands me on TV with wild frizzy hair and my eyeballs popping out due to too much caffeine screaming “ALIENS”. But, that’s not my point. My point is we can choose what to do for ourselves. We can stretch now or deal with paying for medication later.

The choice is ours. πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Because stretching feels so good :)

    rudinahp said:
    February 11, 2016 at 4:32 am

    Ohh I fully agree.. bu you touched me at my weakest point right now. Since I’m pregnant and can’t really stretch and I miss it so muuuuuch.. can’t wait to go back to this feeling of happiness soon πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    geekkat said:
    February 11, 2016 at 5:43 am

    Absolutely!!! I love to stretch!! I feels o much better after I do a yoga set. My brother used to tease me about how much stretching I did when I was younger….he’s not teasing me anymore πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Suzyqqq said:
    February 11, 2016 at 11:56 am

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3788967/

    Thank you for this writing as it furthered a look into research, well, I’m sure there is much more research. Yes, stretching, something I do rarely and I’m like a guy on flexibility πŸ™‚ Not to say this for excuses, but I don’t know how much to stretch as it’s not something that comes to me naturally like biking and walking, well, walking is a stretch, but I tend to do it anyways regularly. I love Biking, because I love nature, but yes, stretching, shhhhhh, I know it’s important, but I just don’t have the habit of it, or the thing of it. I am not structured for a course, I do my own thing and yikes, I am reading what you ended with.

    Liked by 1 person

    Suzyqqq said:
    February 11, 2016 at 12:04 pm

    one time I was assessed on all sorts of parameters on my body and I rated above all except flexibility, some sort of test they did to measure this and I was like even before they did it, oh no, that’s not going to be above norms for sure. hahahaha, yah. Also the test as I said to them, it’s a comparison to others on age/gender range and I already knew I was going to be above compared to others. Why one is compared to others, well, I figure that’s how they set it up, but bodies are , you know fast twitching muscles and forms individual to each that also impacts performance. Those variables do make a difference in measurements, but yes getting back to your writing. I have been told it’s important to stretch, in proper technique and it does improve one’s performance, ones enjoyment and is very important to our bodies. That being said, hmmmmm, STRETCH Susy πŸ™‚ (talking to myself:) )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

