Needed Wants or Wanted Needs

Posted on

image

Patience is not always an easy task. In a world where everything is instantly done we find ourselves hating to wait.  Even a five minute delay in a text message response can feel like an eternity. We want and we want it now. But have we ever stopped to think if we need it now. Looking back at my younger days I can see that I wasted a lot of time, energy, and money on things that I did not need. The things I wanted ended up costing me more than I needed to spend. I have past most of those items onto others that had similar wants. I have learnt that want is a bottomless pit. I can get everything that I need but I will always want more. We all have had to learn this lesson.  We have disciplined ourselves to focus more on our needs, and save for future needs.  The worse thing that we can do for ourselves is blur the line between the two. We should never need what we want. We should never need those $200 stilettos. Nor should we ever need a two seater Maserati. We do need shoes and if public transportation is not available we will need a vehicle. But discernment needs to be applied. We need to have a clear picture of our needs and wants, and they need to be separate. I do treat myself to somethings I want every now and then, but not often. This is one key to my happiness.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Needed Wants or Wanted Needs

    JojoBean said:
    January 28, 2016 at 7:19 am

    Yes, I keep telling my younger sister the same – there is a BIG difference between “want” and “need”, and at 25 years of age, she’s impatient to get where she wants to be (i.e. designing cool new homes, earning a good salary and travelling a lot), despite having been told that it took me more than 10 years to get where I am today after I finished university… “Yes, but I want…” seems to be the phrase I hear so often right now!

    I play this game with myself each month… “do I really want, or do I really need, this?” it’s usually when I’m scanning shops online (shopping in Luxembourg is far too expensive for most of its citizens, and the fashion sense can be rather questionable). The answer is more often than not “no, why on earth would I need to buy more crap?” 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Suzyqqq said:
    January 28, 2016 at 9:18 am

    ahhh, so yes, wants and needs. To each concern is an answer. The answer often continues the process of how we approach wants and needs. When I was younger and went shopping with my Mom everything fit, but not everything was affordable. I learned to admire the workmanship of the clothing, the fabric, the touch of it and I began to notice this instead of the focus on do I need it or do I want it. Do i need to notice this? I want to and so needs and wants are the same here or do not conflict. Perhaps finding a focus on wants so that the needs do not suffer is an answer. Perhaps patience abates the want drive so that balance is achieved. I don’t know. But, for me needs and wants can share spaces.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

