Inadmissible Interjections

Posted on

argue

 

I have two eyes, two ears, and one mouth. The older I get the more I understand the importance in use them accordingly. I have learnt to look and listen twice as much as I talk. I have significantly reduce my interjections. Most of the time my injections were nothing more than vocal clutter. It is no surprise that reducing clutter brings a sense of peace. This is also true in speaking. It is not necessary to comment on every post, nor is it necessary to debate every topic. It is important to listen. By listening I have learnt to understand the view points of others.  Taking the time to learn why we think the way we do is essential in communicating with others. A conversation is handicapped if we do not understand the view points of others. Out of ignorance we may end up chiming out of habit.

I am reminded of the story of the woman who cut the ends off of her meatloaf. When her husband inquired why she cut the ends off, she simply replied that her mother did it. Sometime later the husband had a chance to ask his mother-in-law why she cut her ends off. She also replied that her mother did it so in turn she picked up the habit as well. As fate would have it the husband found a change to ask the grand mother why she cut the ends off. She turned and smiled. “So it can on my serving dish better.”

Once we understand why someone acts or reacts in a certain manner, we can better assess our response. Had the mother or the daughter taken the time to ask the grand mother why she cut the ends off, they would have understood why their actions were just innocent mimicry. If I am too busy interjecting at every whim that strikes me, I miss the opportunity to listen. Life is too short to spend rambling. Trust me when I say that I can ramble about nothing. However, it holds no value. This is why I have taken it to heart to use my two eyes, two ears, and one mouth accordingly. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Inadmissible Interjections

    inspirationaldetails said:
    January 24, 2016 at 9:27 pm

    I agree – We all should try to be better listeners and slow to speak

    Liked by 1 person

    Ann Coleman said:
    January 25, 2016 at 2:45 pm

    Well said!

    Like

Leave a Reply

