Without return

Posted on

untitled

What’s in for me? This seems to be a common question among people today. Everyone wants something in return. If there is nothing to be gained then there is no reason to invest time into it. What if there was absolutely nothing to gain from helping others? How many people would stop to help?

We preach about karma and how people get what they deserve. However, the focus on karma is always in the negative aspect. Why? Are we so focused on having the opportunity to laugh at others down fall that we fail to hand out any praise as well? This is truly the thinking of a fool.

We would benefit from sharing without the expectation of return. The term “You owe me” should be removed from our repertoire. Life is too short to maintain a tablature of debts. We should implore ourselves to share our time with other. Share memories with friend and family. Share a life with a significant other. What good is having if we cannot share it?  🙂

4 thoughts on “Without return

    Nadine said:
    January 19, 2016 at 3:01 pm

    Well said ❤
    For some people if helping someone means no gain for them, they will simply turn they back and continue to walk away.

    Liked by 1 person

    Della Ratcliffe said:
    January 19, 2016 at 4:13 pm

    I’d like to think that I’m meeting those kind of folks less and less in this world. i.e. the ones who only do something good for what they’ll get in return. In fact, they are not really giving…. they are just taking. It’s not a gift if you expect something in return. I totally believe in just being who you are and sharing what you have with the world… and if that comes back to me in some kind of energetic form, lovely. If it doesn’t, that’s OK too.

    Liked by 1 person

    cornfedcontessa said:
    January 19, 2016 at 8:59 pm

    As I’ve gotten older, I find that I want to help others more. I currently do volunteer work for two organizations. I truly enjoy helping others. My only wish is that if there comes a time that I need help, someone will gladly help me.

    Liked by 1 person

    DailyMusings said:
    January 19, 2016 at 9:14 pm

    Thank you for this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

