But I Wanna Run

Posted on

For me, running is like binge drinking in reverse.  The actual running can be considered as the hang over session while the runners high afterwards is the binge drinking session. Like a good friend, running gives me the bad news first then leaves me feeling good. I hate running, but I love recovering from a good run. I’m sure that I’m not the only one that feels this way.

“Any who.” It has been raining and storming all night. Cascades of lightening dance throughout the night while the rain tapped a steady techno beat. At one point I woke up just to watch the show.  Unfortunately, This means the track is saturated. If there is one thing I have learnt, there is no running on a wet track when you are accident prone. I know my limits. Instead, its a ballad of static stretches for me.

Yes, I do cold stretching. Doctors everywhere are jumping on the bandwagon proclaiming that static stretching is bad. They are correct. If I were to completely fold myself in half when I first wake up, I would rip my tendons. Sadly, there are people who have done this and reported what they did and thus static stretching is deemed bad.

A dog bites someone it has to be put down, but if a cat does it “that’s different”.

I always stretch in steps. First step is light, just enough to feel a little tension but not enough to feel any pulling. This is held for a minute. I have several stretches that I go through. The second step is a little deeper. At this time I am actually able to feel a little more limber. Once again there is no major pull feeling, but it is more than the first step. After completing all of the stretches I go all the way. I stretch as far as I can without feeling pain. At no time should I ever feel pain while stretching. There is tension and sometimes my legs shake, but there is no pain.

Stretching like this has helped my arthritis. The tendons no longer pull the joints together. Thus, the swelling has reduced as well as morning pains, especially in my hips. Imagine that, curing arthritic pain without medication. Doctor don’t approve. 🙂

Sadly, as I type these final words, I am still contemplating on running. The inner-child is screaming “But I wanna run.”

5 thoughts on “But I Wanna Run

    roweeee said:
    December 23, 2015 at 7:26 am

    I benefit from stretches too, Steven. I play the violin and after an hour of straight playing I need to stretch, especially around my neck and shoulders. Ideally, I do some stretches halfway. I didn’t realise stretching had had some bad press. It’s only helped me xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

      stevenjcurtis responded:
      December 23, 2015 at 7:31 am

      Military doctors have referred me to Google. Type in “static stretching” and you can find all of the bad statistic on it, they say. So I typed in “doctors”. Needless to say, I found some pretty bad things about them as well. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

        roweeee said:
        December 24, 2015 at 8:51 am

        Loved that! I suspect the only stretching I’ll be doing tomorrow will also be bad for me…I am expecting my stomach to do a fair amount of stretching over Christmas! xx Rowena

        Liked by 1 person

    Mayam said:
    December 23, 2015 at 7:39 am

    I feel exactly the same way! O_O

    Liked by 1 person

    Samantha said:
    December 23, 2015 at 8:51 am

    I know exactly what you mean describing that awesome feeling of recovering from a run. I tell myself I like running, but only because it makes me fee so good afterwards. During my run I’m sweaty, tired and I always ask myself what it is exactly that I like about the actual running. But now I haven’t been on one for a few weeks and I truly miss it 😦
    And as long as you know your own boundaries stretch-wise, I think it’s brilliant you can get rid of your arthritic pains like this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

