Steve

Posted on

Tonight I shall be setting in a meditative manner, staring at a big screen. My childlike imagination will go wild with excitement as the story unfolds. I will be instantly transported to another world and time brazened with expectations. Yes, I will be one of the few that will be engulfed in writing.

I love writing. Reading is fun and I love to see other worlds through other authors eyes, but when I write, I literally forget where and when I am. I am currently writing a novel. The other day I was so involved in the winter scene that I found myself encapsulated with soft lofty snow flakes falling ever so waveringly to the ground, that at one point I looked outside to see if it was snowing. It’s at this point that I would like to point out that I am in New Orleans and the temperature was in the 60’s. That’s what writing does for me.

When I talk, people enjoy listening. I have been told that I have a natural ability to tell stories. I blame it on the ridiculous southern accent that I have been blessed with. However, it is true. People do seem to hang on the words that I say. This is one reason I have learnt to choose my words wisely, especially as I get older. I would love to be able to convey that type of emotional translation into my writing. I want others to experience exactly what I do when they read my work. I do not know of a good author that doesn’t want this for their readers.

Painting a scene with words is one of the most impressive action that I have ever seen. To be able to build a world and make it so believable that the reader actually sees it, is one of the greatest achievements that I believe one can accomplish. It’s like a painting of a person that looks so life like that as you study the painting you expect to see it blink. This is why I believe writing has a magical aspect to it. Sadly, it is becoming a lost art. Television and Media is killing imagination. Hollywood is running out of things to write about. They have to make remakes of old movies. They have lost their spark. However, I have not lost my spark. I hold onto it and guard it as a sacred item, because it is.

Yes, tonight I will be staring at a big screen. The big screen of my imagination. While others will be transported to a galaxy far, far away. I will be creating my own world and living the adventures within my own vivid imagination.

Leave a Reply

