Perception or Reality?

Posted on

Reality is 100% perception. This small statement has held true through the test of time. If we believe our life is horrible, then it is. If we believe that we are the best, then we are. It doesn’t matter what others think, say, or do. The manner in which we perceive our reality drives how we react and interact. Have you ever taken a statement the wrong way? At the time the statement may have sounded bad or good, but later it was revealed that the statement was meant to be received in the opposite fashion.

I remember once, I had a 1983 Chevy truck with a short narrow bed. It was lifted and had 32″ tires. In Willow Grove PA, it stood out amongst the BMW’s and Lexus’. At a stoplight I had a gentleman lean out of the passenger side of the vehicle beside me, and shouted “Big truck little cockatoo!” Actually he stopped at the first syllable. I smiled and said “Thanks!”

I knew what he meant, but I also knew that that is something said out of envy. It’s said to those with exotic cars, big houses, big boats, In some aspect of the situation that gentleman displayed envy. That is something to be proud of. It would have been easy to get mad and try to defend my the size of my cockatoo. But why? In reality, we were two people at a stoplight, whose paths will never cross again. What would be the point of getting mad? It is healthier to find humor in every situation than to find offense.

Life is to short to go around taking everything in a negative manner. If someone says something to us and it hurt us, we owe it to them and ourselves to be honest and let them know how we felt (in a professional manner, of course). It is also important to understand that people may take what we say differently than we planned on them receiving it. This is where respecting each others feeling come in. We all have had different experiences in life. This allows for different views, and different opinions. If we take the time to understand where we all come from, it is easier to understand how a person may misinterpret what we say. We should take the time to get off of our “high horse”. Everyone is not against us. Everyone is not out to get us. Maybe, just maybe, everyone thinks we are out to get them. Question is, who is going to see the reality?

Thanks for taking the time to read, and may we always stay in a positive reality.

4 thoughts on “Perception or Reality?

    rudinahp said:
    September 29, 2015 at 6:33 am

    I fully agree.. I always try to ‘reason’ other people and/or situations.. and honestly it always paid back (positively).

    I believe I’m living a happy life, and that makes me shine and live happily.. I’m not saying I’m not aware of all the badness in my life, I just chose not to get stuck on them… instead reason it and move on..I chose to get stuck on happy moments…

    Liked by 1 person

    April Young said:
    September 29, 2015 at 7:23 am

    Thank you for sharing. This is so true!!

    Liked by 2 people

    noblethemes said:
    September 29, 2015 at 12:12 pm

    VERY good post! On spot, for sure… Thank you for this much-needed thought for the day, Steven!

    Liked by 1 person

    Samc95xc said:
    November 14, 2015 at 9:22 am

    Awesome post! #LifeInterpretation!

    Like

Leave a Reply

