40+ (what I have found)

Posted on

Two things have been working against me; running 12+ miles per week and age.

I am one of the few that actually loves getting older. I love watching my white hairs grow in. Although most of my hair is still brown, the whites and greys will take over.  I have more laugh lines around my eyes. They accent my smile. I’m not as quick to temper. I’ve learnt that it’s important to assess the root of a situation. I have also learnt that having a good attitude is better for my health. I have become a source of positivity amongst my peers.

With each day that I wake up, I am getting older. Yes, I am slowing down, but I haven’t stopped. People around me have changed their attitude towards me as well. I have noticed the word “Sir” when I am addressed. With age comes others respect. I find myself watching what I do and say because I am placed as a role model. My muscles move slow. They don’t hurt, they just move slow. I have to stretch more in order to get my body ready for the day. I watch what I eat. It seems that 41 is the age that my metabolism finally slowed down a little. I monitor my weight everyday; along with my heartbeat and stress level. I have not cut junk food out of my diet. I do ,however, monitor my quantity of junk food. Rarely do I drink soda pop or sugar drinks. I love ice tea and water, but most of all coffee. Chicory coffee has become my favorite coffee. Upon doing some research I found that chicory coffee allows the body to absorb iron more efficiently. This means my recovery time after a long run is quicker. Trust me when I say it is. There are also immune system benefits to this coffee as well. None of this has been proven by modern medicine. Doctors of the late 1800’s and early 1900’s were not idiots. A lot of what they discovered were written in books. Then came commercialization. Discoveries were not publicized as much. And now, I sound like a conspiracy theorist. I think that comes with age too. 🙂

I am far from hitting my prime. Mid-life for me will be late 50’s or early 60’s. I know, at this rate, I will be here on this rock for a good while. But, tomorrow is never promised. Yep, I’m getting older and slowing down. But, I haven’t stopped.

Thanks for taking the time to read, and may we always enjoy getting older.

6 thoughts on “40+ (what I have found)

    DailyMusings said:
    August 20, 2015 at 5:15 am

    With getting older has come the freedom of not caring what people think, not being afraid to be more outspoken and embracing my laugh lines and what gravity is doing to my face 🙂 It is liberating!

    Liked by 1 person

    enedy Njoroge said:
    August 20, 2015 at 6:23 am

    Nice read.:-) 23 and growing each new day.

    Liked by 1 person

    elizaberrie said:
    August 20, 2015 at 6:47 am

    Just a few days away from leaving the 40’s behind. For me, the 40’s was all about losing your fears- not that I am fearless. I did a lot of great things for myself that I would have never done in my 30’s. I wonder what my 50’s will do for me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Enlightenment Angels said:
    August 20, 2015 at 11:57 am

    As the saying goes, “Never stop moving.” As long as we do not stop moving no matter what our age, we will do just fine. And, of course, watch our diet. 8) Myself, I don’t mind getting older. As a matter of fact, I welcome it and and grey that comes with it. Why, because I am able to be here to welcome it when some family members and friends are not. Nice post hun!

    Liked by 1 person

    tlizzy said:
    August 21, 2015 at 4:33 pm

    mmm chicory coffee. I have enjoyed that also as an iced coffee. You must try it on a hot summers day. im 30 and have to watch the waist line. Im concerned my metabolism isnt as strong as it used to be. I will get back to the gym and keep a close eye on it. I worry about getting older. i feel like the sands of time are running through my hands too quick and Im not making the most of my life. i feel like i am living it for others. thank you

    Liked by 1 person

    Patricia Ann said:
    August 22, 2015 at 4:17 pm

    Well past the 3/4 century mark, I’m still saying “bring on the years!” One of my acquaintances is turning 100 soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

