Silence

Posted on

Listen to silence.  There is a lot of power that is draw from silence. We have a chance to rethink about what we need and what we really need. We learn to communicate in a different fashion. There is a lot to learn from silence.

Within

As I set in silence, I often find my thought racing out of control. My thoughts are moving as a child scribbling with crayons. Then, I catch up to my thoughts. It feels like being in a car that is traveling 60mph but feels like 30mph. I am able to focus my thoughts, When I set in silence, everything slows down. That’s the perception, at least.

Communicating in silence is different too. I have learnt that there is more said with the body than with words. I have also learnt that my face, in a relax state, produces an ‘upset’ or ‘angry’ expression. This is my natural expression. It is not my natural state of mind. If I want to gesture to someone, I need to watch my facial expressions. Another interesting fact, I smile with my whole face. Not everyone does this. Not everyone is happy either, but they will fake it for the moment. A whole facial smile seems more genuine. That’s my opinion on it.

Outside

Silence has taught me a lot on how to interact with people. Sometimes, sitting in silence while someone rambles on is the best thing we can do for them. I have had conversations that only consisted of the other person talking their way through a situation. When they reach their conclusion, I get thanked for listening and they go on their merry way. I guess people just want to be heard. There is nothing wrong with that; to an extent.

Phones are a distraction. I have also felt my phone vibrate without having my phone on me. We are connected to our phones more than we realize. We take them everywhere, even to the bathroom. They are a distraction from serenity. We need serenity just as we need water and exercise.

Television is another distraction. We spend more than five hours a day staring at a monitor of some fashion. That has to have a negative effect on our eyes. How much time is wasted on watching mind numbing TV. What are we watching; drama, action, comedy? We are not allowing our minds to relax. We force our brains to be active from the time we get up until we go to bed. Is there any question as to why we are burnt out?

Unity

There has to be serenity in ourselves and our environment. We create our environment. I create my environment. This does not mean that I control everyone around me in order to create my utopia. This means that I manage my time, tools, and surroundings. If a person prevents me from having my serenity, then I stop associating with them. There are hundreds of people in this world. I can go to someone else. Stop. If you just questioned my use of the word ‘hundreds’, and replaced it with thousands, millions, or billions, then that’s my point. We have options. We just need the courage to utilize those options. We can find serenity in our daily lives. A wise man once said, ‘If you cannot set in silence for 20, then you need to set in silence for an hour.’

Thanks for taking the time to read, and my we always be able to put ourselves into ‘time-out’.

11 thoughts on “Silence

    geekkat said:
    August 14, 2015 at 5:15 am

    Sometimes it is better to just put everything down. Enjoyed reading this post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Suzyqqq said:
    August 14, 2015 at 7:33 am

    Also, enjoyed your thoughts. I find on blogs that adding input is difficult. Thoughts are taken incorrectly or just plain out not the place other then one liners. I understand though that it is difficult to interpret because people don’t see or know the person expressing. There is much to understand in people.
    Yes, silence also listens to us.

    Liked by 1 person

      stevenjcurtis responded:
      August 14, 2015 at 1:08 pm

      This is why I like to take things with a grain of salt. 🙂

      Like

    Suzyqqq said:
    August 14, 2015 at 2:47 pm


    I’m sorry if this is not your style, but it spoke to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    Patricia Ann said:
    August 14, 2015 at 3:23 pm

    Listening to the silence is one of my favorite pastimes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Noel said:
    August 14, 2015 at 7:46 pm

    We have a lot on common. I love to be in silence. It helps me to relax. I also like to do yoga and meditating . My facial expression also seems more serious than I usually feel. Thanks for the post.

    Liked by 1 person

    motherofnecessity said:
    August 16, 2015 at 9:57 pm

    They say silence is golden. I have found that to be true. There is something about turning everything off and just be. Love this post. By the way…. I have nominated you for the Premio Dardos award. check out my blog for the award. This is not spam, just a fellow blogger wanting to give you some kudos.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

