Free Advice To A Good Home

Posted on

Advice is free, and we get what we pay for. So with that in mind, I would love to give some advice.

1. Nothing good happens after midnight. This may be easy for me to say since I’m not a night owl. However, there is a bit of truth to it.

2. Pay yourself, but don’t spend the money. I try to pay myself 10% of my earnings. I don’t always reach that goal, but I do put in what I can. The point is, put back as much as we can afford. Some people save for a rainy day, I save for the day stuff hits the fan.

3. Get a dash-cam for your car. Louisiana is a “No Fault” state. If someone cuts me off, slams on their brakes, and I hit them, both drivers can be given a ticket; unless there is evidence showing that the other driver was a complete moron. This is also good for when the other driver wants to file a lawsuit.

4. Set in silence. Start each day in silence. Read, blog, sip coffee, do whatever but do it in silence. In the first two hours of my day I don’t say over 10 words. I don’t have any music on. I just listen to the silence while I do my morning routine. This has made me a happier person. I don’t know why, but it has.

5. Make your own chili. There are over 1,000 recipes for chili; in the end we are all making chili. Yes, this is a metaphor stating we should do things our way. Sure there are many more ways to do the same thing, and people are eager to let us know how they do it. In the end, we have our way of doing it.

6. Plant only good seeds; do only good deeds. Revenge is never a good thing. Revenge is still planting bad seeds, even if it is for a good cause. If we plant bad seeds, we will get bad crops. There is no way around this rule.

Well there you have it. Thanks for taking the time to read, and may we always live by the advice we give.

15 thoughts on “Free Advice To A Good Home

    demiannee said:
    July 30, 2015 at 5:40 am

    Great post but I have to object to number one…

    Liked by 1 person

    Nihaad said:
    July 30, 2015 at 5:58 am

    Great tips and advice for every aspect in life – and very much needed, so thank you
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    ♥ love powered ♥ said:
    July 30, 2015 at 6:57 am

    Reblogged this on ♥ with love dot I/O ♥ and commented:
    Pretty sage advice. Don’t know about #1 though, haha ☺

    Like

    jacquelineobyikocha said:
    July 30, 2015 at 9:26 am

    You are a sensible man. I like the advise. Will try the chilli and silent part. Not a night owl myself anyways. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Enlightenment Angels said:
    July 30, 2015 at 12:09 pm

    Very nice and good advice. Especially this one, “Get a dash-cam for your car. Louisiana is a “No Fault” state. If someone cuts me off, slams on their brakes, and I hit them, both drivers can be given a ticket; unless there is evidence showing that the other driver was a complete moron. This is also good for when the other driver wants to file a lawsuit.” I was wondering what the back window camera was for. 8)

    Liked by 1 person

      stevenjcurtis responded:
      July 30, 2015 at 1:13 pm

      Tailgaters. This way they can’t say that I slammed my brakes on. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    Dee said:
    July 30, 2015 at 6:06 pm

    Many good things happen after midnight…I took my first breath just after midnight! But also that’s the time I pause, step outside, look up to the stars and gain perspective at the end of the day 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

      stevenjcurtis responded:
      August 1, 2015 at 8:56 am

      Reflection of my past leads me to believe the way I do. Neither one of us are right or wrong, we happen to enjoy our perspective. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        Dee said:
        August 1, 2015 at 1:17 pm

        Perhaps you only ever look at the stars before midnight 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        stevenjcurtis responded:
        August 1, 2015 at 2:04 pm

        Perhaps

        Liked by 1 person

    agirlsurvivalguide said:
    July 30, 2015 at 10:15 pm

    I make Chili all of the time!!! It is my go-to meal. 🙂 Loved this post.

    Liked by 1 person

    thatmissouriguy said:
    July 31, 2015 at 12:41 am

    Reblogged this on TMG and commented:
    Wonderful blog full of great ideas!

    Like

Leave a Reply

