Let’s vocalize effectively.

Posted on

People love to talk. Give them an ear and they will do their best to fill it. There is one thing I have noticed when it comes to people talking. They all love to do it. They believe the information they are expressing is the most important thing to be listening to. At some point they may even contradict themselves. This usually happens after they have been talking for 45 minutes or more. I do not hold it against them. Most of the time, they don’t even realize they do it. Instead, I just listen.

We want our voice to be heard. Trust me when I say we all have something to say. Is it wrong that we want to be heard? With all of our adventures we have went through, there must be something worth talking about. Even old people talk about the weather. The answer to that question is yes. However, some of us do not know how to express what we want to say. We know what information that we want to express, we just don’t convey it properly.

I recently gave a presentation to a group of my peers. I had the information all laid out, and I thought I was ready. Ends up I had a problem.  I had so much information I went into overload and found myself reading all 19 slides to my peers. Needless to say, it was not my best presentation. Luckily we all survived and no one died of boredom.

Sometimes our issue lies in timing. We have all found ourselves in that awkward moment when someone is talking to us, and we are in a hurry. Sometimes it’s the other way around. It’s not rude to say we are in a hurry. It’s rude to just walk away. If I am in a hurry and someone needs to talk, I usually ask them to walk with me while they talk. In the event they cannot follow, I ask them to find me at a later time. We need to express ourselves when it is convenient for our audience. If the audience does not have the time to dedicate to listening, then we are wasting both their time and our time. Pushing a conversation onto someone will only make them shut down and wait the conversation out. This is not effective communication.

Point is, we all have something to say. If we want people to listen effectively then we need to communicate effectively. Timing is everything when it comes to communicating. We all love to learn new things. However, we love to learn new things when it is convenient for us. Learning how to work around this is as easy as ballroom dancing. It takes practice.

Thanks for taking the time to read this, and may we always remember we have two ears and one mouth. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Let’s vocalize effectively.

    fearfullywonderfullyme said:
    July 3, 2015 at 2:13 pm

    This is so true! I’m trying to be more mindful of what I say when I speak, so this is relevant to my life.

    Liked by 1 person

    Good Lifestyler said:
    July 3, 2015 at 6:33 pm

    Reblogged this on The Good Lifestyler.

    Liked by 1 person

    terriechua said:
    July 4, 2015 at 11:51 am

    Awww. I could relate big time. Continuously learning to communicate effectively here. Thanks for this post! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    noblethemes said:
    July 4, 2015 at 6:35 pm

    “Pushing a conversation onto someone will only make them shut down and wait the conversation out. This is not effective communication.” Touche! Well-written and definitely on-target!

    Liked by 1 person

    Anais Jay said:
    July 5, 2015 at 6:28 pm

    True. People need to read this. Will be sharing this with fellow writers. Godspeed!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

