A word to Christians and a few more to Humans.

Posted on

Discriminate:recognize a distinction, differentiate.

There has been a lot of negativity thrown around in the last week. I am a very religious person. I do follow the Old testament laws. I understand that there are no New Testament laws. The laws spoken in the New Testament are an explanation of the Old Testament laws. If you don’t read or give reference from the scriptures I speak of, I ask that you keep and open mind. Although we speak with different words, we have the same heart.

To the clan known as Christians, I have read your Bible. No where in it does it give you the right to judge another human. My reference for this is Mathew 7:1. This means that if I walk into a church wearing overalls and a white t-shirt, I am not to be judged by the clothes that I wear. There is no dress code for going to church. This is a man made law. I have been frowned upon for doing such thing. Speaking of frowned upon, a lot of my friends have been hated on. It turns out that some Christians believe that they are above the laws of the scriptures and have chastised people for being homosexuals. Let me be very clear with this subject. The lifestyle that I condone is one that I apply to my life and my life only. I do not condone homosexuality. It would be against my creed to apply it to my life. I apply this creed to my life and my life only. My creed does support love. 1John chapter 4 states it well. We are to love. If we don’t love then we don’t know the Heavenly Father. When we are in love, the Heavenly Father is in us, and this is the completion of love. We cannot reprimand with out a verdict. Verdicts come from judgments. We have no right to judge anyone.

To species known as homo-sapiens, our physical differences are clinal. These features have taken years to develop. Some even took generations. Humans do not have different colors, we have different shades of the same color. Our facial feature have developed according to where our ancestors lived on this planet. We have fooled ourselves into believing that we are all different. It is as though we have placed a hierarchy on our clinal differences. This is a full display of ignorance. It is embarrassing.

What more do we want? We as humans have lived on this planet for more that 5,000 years, and we still have trouble loving each other. Hate comes easy, love comes with discipline. There is a huge lack of discipline in this world. We do not control our tongues. We do not hold ourselves to standards. We simply give ourselves the right to judge and state that we are higher on our self proclaimed hierarchy than others. A small piece of humble pie would go a long way here. Learn to put others first. When we look at the sanitation worker, we need to stop saying “At least I don’t have that job.” They may be saying the same thing as we drive off to our offices.

“No one is better than I am, and I am better than no one.”

This should be recited everyday until we believe it. This should be recited until we live it.

Love… It’s the only verb that we should be focused on.

Thanks for taking the time to read, and may we never judge anyone other than ourselves; may we show others love and may we be loved as well. Slainte!

11 thoughts on “A word to Christians and a few more to Humans.

    DailyMusings said:
    July 1, 2015 at 5:39 am

    well said

    Liked by 2 people

    sometimes i think life is trying to kill me said:
    July 1, 2015 at 6:24 am

    very nice! i have lived in a town in MA that has had a high gay population for decades, we’ve had a gay mayor, our PRIDE parades are huge, we have a rainbow sidewalk, we’re second only to NY and SF in percentages, we’ve had gay marriage for a decade, and seeing trans people on the street is just plain old life. despite all this gayness (and i am being factious) we still manage to be a great town people want to be in! i will never grasp the mentality of those who are so threatened by another lifestyle. no matter how old or young their bibles are, anyway, ALL of the contents were written centuries after jesus died and are therefore very old hearsay. too bad no one has ever found anything jesus himself because i’ll bet he’d stop all those hating christians in their nasty tracks. just why are they so threatened? it’s comical, almost 70% of marriages have or had a cheating spouse and 50% end in divorce…. so exactly what are they protecting? what is so profound? a relationship of any kind can be profound but everyone deserves the right to seal their love how they see fit.

    Liked by 2 people

      stevenjcurtis responded:
      July 1, 2015 at 7:57 am

      Actually the Son did soeak of Love a lot. Love this reply. 🙂

      Like

    Viji Maha said:
    July 1, 2015 at 6:33 am

    I completely agree with your sentiment ‘ no one is better than I am; and I am better than no one’. If only we were all aligned to this thought, we can reduce a lot of conflict in our personal lives and well as in the larger community. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    jacquelineobyikocha said:
    July 1, 2015 at 6:56 am

    Steve, in as much as I agree with the principles of love, of not judging or castigating someone else for their lifestyle, I also refuse as a Christian to be bamboozled by media or anyone into accepting someone’s lifestyle which is against my belief. I have nothing against anyone who chooses to be gay, but I have a right to freedom of religious practice and viewpoint. As much as the LGBT need respect and acceptance, so do Christians who choose not to embrace the new order of things. None of us is a Saint. God abhors all sin and life is hard enough with hands full trying to live a purposeful life than butting my nose into other people’s affairs.

    Liked by 1 person

      stevenjcurtis responded:
      July 1, 2015 at 7:54 am

      Our views aren’t that far apart. I love the discernment you display. Thanks for replying.

      Liked by 2 people

    zdunno03 said:
    July 1, 2015 at 8:16 am

    Well written, Steve. It is really hard for any rational person to disagree with this whether they are religious or not.

    Liked by 1 person

    noblethemes said:
    July 1, 2015 at 12:01 pm

    Steve, thank you for your beautiful perspective and loving attitude. Truly we do need to not only focus on love, but live out lives of Love… However, I would make one small but important exception, that is: If we practice charity in all matters and relationships, then there certainly ought to be no difficulty in everyone entering into the “public arena,” so to speak, and sharing her/his ideas and beliefs. Out from untold ages of progressive evolution, we have only recently, historically speaking, reached the point of being able to co-exist in relative peace within an open, democratic society … by the grace of God, as I certainly believe. However, preserving this precious gift of democracy entails, at least in part, our squabbling over various and sundry issues. (I say “squabbling” more in the sense of family members bickering about who gets the remote! LOL) This is just part and parcel of living in truly democratic fashion, and I’m afraid if we back away from this out of fear of offending ~ when really and truly we’ve guarded ourselves from needlessly offending as much as reasonably possible ~ we could very well sacrifice the very democracy that affords us the freedoms and liberties we so cherish. Just a couple of “Noble” thoughts! LOL Blessings to you, as always!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    desertrat69 said:
    July 3, 2015 at 3:03 pm

    I’m curious – if you follow Old Testament laws, then slavery must be OK with you, right? Because it was legal back then.

    Liked by 1 person

      stevenjcurtis responded:
      July 3, 2015 at 5:33 pm

      That’s actually a great question. The answer is no. I do not feel that a person should ever have ownership of another person. Although it was legal, it was not mandatory. Thanks for asking 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

