Posted on

I am not the type of person to socialize. I have my reasons for not liking a crowd. There was a time that I wanted to be in the lime light. But, it’s draining for me to be in that atmosphere. I love my independence, and I love being alone. There is something energizing about setting in silence and gathering my thoughts. Some may think it’s boring, and they would be correct. There is no excitement or drama in silence. This is how I start every day. Thoughts race through my head like quotes on a stock market marquee. Like a stock broker I set, look, and listen. Some thoughts are good, some are not so good. It allows me to take an evaluation of how I feel. My thoughts are a reflection of my current state of mind. Setting in silence allows me to look at “me”. (myself in third person)

Staying cooped up and alone is not healthy. There is something gained by social interaction. 75% of the time, my wife is the only other person I see or talk to. Having only one person to talk to is not socializing. Mentally there is something stimulating about exchanging ideas with someone that you don’t always see. It’s as though a new book has landed in our laps and we want to know their adventures. For me, I’m hoping for a short story or a cliff note version. I will socialize with everyone. Most of the time I am listening and interject when the conversation permits. I have been called a conversationalist, but to be honest, I have no idea what that means. I love to move about in a crowd and listen to everyone. Very rarely will I ever stay focused on one person for very long. I want to listen to the crowd, not a person. A collective persona is created when a group of people get together and socialize. It’s that “persona” that I love to watch, listen to, and socialize with. Next time that you are in a group, take the time to see the forest instead of looking at the trees. You will feel the collective attitude and hear a collective voice. For you Star Trek fans, no we’re not Borgs.

Some people get energized from crowds. Others, get their energy from setting in silence. It is important it know where you get energized. But, do not stay one sided. We need silence as much as we need to socialize. Think of it like your cell phone. The longer is stays in a state that drains the battery, the longer is will need for recharging. In a metaphoric manner, we work the same way. Take the time to recharge, but don’t stay on the charger too long.

Thanks for taking the time to read, and may we always find ourselves in good company.

3 thoughts on “

    Maria Helena said:
    June 22, 2015 at 6:37 am

    i am totally with you on this! i always thought i am not really a social person and enjoy being on my own a lot more, until january this year: it was the time of the winter holidays in china and almost all the students left the campus to go back home, except me. i was almost the only person in the whole building and for almost one month i had noone to talk to except some friends back in europe who i would talk to on socialmedia. but thats not the same. this time really made realize that i AM a social person and that in my opinion everyone is, some more than others, but in general we all need to get out from time to time

    Like

    unrelentingmayhem said:
    June 22, 2015 at 8:29 am

    A fellow introvert!
    Very well-written; as though you were right inside my head.

    Liked by 1 person

    aprilcoon said:
    June 22, 2015 at 11:18 am

    Love this article! I am the same way. Very independent and being alone does not bother me. I love alone time. I make myself be social and be with people. It is not always comfortable but God said man should not be alone.

    I am a listener as well. I am fascinated with people’s character and how they speak. I rarely ever speak in front of a crowd. But sometimes God leads me to do such that, so I can grow in my faith in Him.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

