A religious view on homosexuality

Posted on

Love Everyone 2

To discriminate is to recognize a difference. We often discriminate between Presidential candidates in order to elect our choice. That is not a bad thing. However, discrimination is bad when we start judging one another. When do we have the right to say that we are better than another person? We preach equality for all and yet we hold differences against one another. In truth, we have no right to judge each other.

The media is spreading animosity towards the homosexual community. They state the we have to be tolerant and we will be tolerant. Nobody likes to have anything forced on them. We have to come to our own terms at our own rate. Shoving information down our throats will only cause rejection. This rejection is labeled as hate when really all we are doing is backing up and trying to digest the information at a slower rate. This is why I hate labels. As a child I was molested over a course of a summer, by a male baby sitter. I had a lot of anger built up against anything or anyone that resembled homosexuality. I was raped. Not once or twice, but over a course of a summer. Do you blame me for my disposition at the time?

I turned to the scriptures for guidance. At this time I would like to ask you to keep an open mind. Don’t clam up just yet. Yes the Torah (first five books of the scriptures) states that a man should not have sex with another man. There are laws that state how a person should conduct themselves and there are laws that state how a society should conduct themselves. At this time I would like to focus on the personal laws. There are two types of personal laws in the scriptures. Those that state how we are to compose ourselves, and those that state how we are to treat others. The law that was stated earlier applies to me and only me. I have no right to apply this law to anyone else. It is a “self” governing law. I choose to live by the scriptures. Therefore, this is a law that I can only apply to myself. Now, for some laws on how to treat others. Matthew 7:1 states that we should not judge anyone. Um… that’s pretty cut and dry. Well, 1John 4:7-8 states that we should love each other. Not only does it state that we should love one another, but it takes it to the next level by stating that if we don’t love, then we do not love the Heavenly Father. Hmm…that’s deep.

Let’s all just take a deep breath and digest what has been stated. If we are going to live by the scriptures then there are laws apply to us and us alone. There are also laws on how to treat others. Those laws that state how to treat others say that we should love each other. Sure, I could set here and lawyer-ize the scripture and point out the fault of others. But, that would be judging, and I don’t play that game anymore.

To be honest, facing the realization of my past, and approaching others with love, instead of hate, has made me a better person. I have not erased the memories of the past, but I have come to terms with them. I am a better person by applying the laws that I have chosen to follow. Love one another. It really is that simple. Run, kick-box, lift weights, do what you need to do in order to release that anger. But, never take it out on anyone. If we are mad at someone, the first step is to cool down. It’s hard to show love when we are upset.  Always be a professional.

I’m sure that this has went against the grain for some. I am asking that if you do have a rebuttal, please keep it. This post is only my view. I do not judge those that state that they live by the scripture then turn around and eat pork. Acts 10:15 is a verse that is often quoted to me. People have stated that it means that we can eat all animals. So, I read Acts 10:10-28 and came to the conclusion that it was a metaphor. The message that was being presented is the one and the same that I have been conveying. Do not judge. Trust me when I say that it took me a long time to digest this information. But, I’m glad that I took the time to do so.

Thanks for taking the time to read, and may we always find room in our heart to love one another.

9 thoughts on “A religious view on homosexuality

    sierraschwartz said:
    June 12, 2015 at 7:04 am

    I’m really sorry that happened to you, Steven. I agree 100% we can’t get around what God said (the creator of life itself) on sexuality. What happened to you was evil. Love is supposed to be about sacrifice and God gave us marriage to express sexuality in a healthy way. Everything else leads to problems because it doesn’t fall within God’s design for human sexuality. We need to love people, cause we all fall short, but we can’t try to change the Bible to fit our culture.

    Liked by 1 person

      stevenjcurtis responded:
      June 12, 2015 at 7:18 am

      I concur with not changing the Scriptures. I also believe that I can only apply the scriptures to myself. Measuring others is judging. My past has made me who I am. I love who I have become and look forward to who I will develop into. Thanks for the response. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    Chris Darling said:
    June 12, 2015 at 7:22 am

    There is an alarming line of thinking that claims when you believe something to be sin you automatically hate the person committing the sin. I have family members that are adulterers, liars, gluttons, and practicing homosexuals. I love them all. Heck, I have sin in my own life that I have to deal with and they love me as well. My beliefs on what the Bible says about sin don’t make me a hate monger, they form who I am as a Christian. When disagreements can be labeled as just that and not bigoted hate, things will be much better. Of course, the church also needs to stop spending all of their resources to ‘stop the homosexual assault on America’ and simply show the world Jesus. We can not expect those who do not share our moral values to live by those moral values. It will never work.

    BTW – this is a very well thought out post and while I have some disagreements, it is thought provoking. Well done.

    Liked by 3 people

      stevenjcurtis responded:
      June 12, 2015 at 7:26 am

      Thanks, we all come from different sides of this life. Our views will differ. I like your response. It too is well written. 🙂

      Like

    jacquelineobyikocha said:
    June 12, 2015 at 11:14 am

    I think Chris Darling spoke my thoughts. I am not in the position to judge anyone as a christian who is striving to love as much as possible, but I do not accept that anyone has the right to force down their beliefs/thoughts down my throat. It is really a very thin line we thread these days. Steven, thank you for your candid write-up, I hope others can learn from this. Harboring hate or bitterness only makes us worse off.

    Liked by 2 people

    James Elmore said:
    June 12, 2015 at 11:32 am

    Steven,

    I am sorry to read about the pain and trauma you have suffered. I was molested as a child as well, my molester was a straight male teen. The vast majority of molesters are straight men. Men are encouraged by society to be dominating, powerful, and in control. I wish they were encouraged to be wise and loving and self-disciplined.

    Thank you for your willingness to examine people who are homosexual for yourself and for bringing your own sense of ethics and a desire to be loving to the issue. I can appreciate that for you marriage equality is suddenly here, homosexuals are included in television portrayals to a much larger degree over the last decade. However, the Stonewall riots happened in 1969. That is nearly 50 years since LGBTI people have stood up and demanded equal treatment under the law. For many LGBTI people, being recognized as equal, entitled to the same rights as other Americans, doesn’t seem sudden at all, it has been a long, arduous struggle, made especially painful by the AIDS epidemic, which the CDC sat on for several years. Imagine if no one had reported ebola for several years?!

    Here is a popular post on my Pinterest board about homosexuality and the bible: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/290200769710486818/

    My favorite bible quote is 1 Corinthians 13:1 Which to paraphrase, without love, it’s all meaningless.

    Liked by 1 person

    snowgood said:
    June 12, 2015 at 3:35 pm

    Your experience sounds horrid, but your aggressor may believe he was enacting the slogan at the top of the post! The English language is good, but sometimes falls short as modern thinking twists the truth on words like love.

    C S Lewis wrote about the 4 loves.

    Greater love has no man than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.

    These days (most) seem to have no concept of true love.

    I wouldn’t be surpassed if the majority of folk were abused as kids, (I’ll include myself on that one).

    Perhaps it’s easier for Christians to forgive, and move on.

    I hope to visit a prison shortly and bring a victims view, although I have to say I’m not harbouring any hurts all these years on!

    Happy Friday.

    Liked by 1 person

    Kweku Ananse Mansoh said:
    June 14, 2015 at 1:57 pm

    Well done. I think the theme of your post is to bring people to light “Jesus” which will show them the darkness they need to run from instead of judging from afar.

    Like

Leave a Reply

