Accept And Be Happy

Posted on Updated on

Chili

What makes us happy? For me, I love resurrecting old engines. It gives me a sense of accomplishment. I also like to watch others learn and grow. This may be a military thing, but I love when my protégés take on the lessons that I teach them and develop into leaders for others. I can only speak for myself when it comes to happiness. Another person’s happiness may be my unhappiness. So for me, Progress and growth is what makes me happy. When things get stagnant I get uneasy. This is why I had to learn to be patient. I had to learn to pace myself. I use to say, “There should only be one pace, my pace.” Wow, was I foolish in thinking that.

There is more than one way to make chili. Believe it or not, my chili recipe may differ from yours. In fact there are over 1000 varieties of chili. It really doesn’t matter which recipe you make, we are all making chili. The same can be said about how we go about being happy. I get energized by being alone. I love silence. Others, that I know, get energized by being around people. Always find which scenario makes you happier. We do not have to be social bugs. I once spent three weeks alone. The only social interaction that I had was when I went to the store. I loved it. I didn’t have to listen to people whine and fuss. No one was blaming me for someone else’s mistakes. I love being alone. But, I also love to listen to people. I love to hear their stories and their adventures in life. Everyone has a lesson to teach. I love trying to find that lesson.

Accept others views. In listening to others I have came across so many different views on the same topic. We all have justification as to why we believe in the views that we have. Yes, my views will conflict with other’s views. Does that make my views wrong? No, nor does it make their views wrong. Our views line up with our experiences and what life has taught us. No two lives are the same, and yet we all live the same life. Two neighbors can live side by side for 40+ years and live completely different lives although they may look exactly the same from the outside. So it should not be surprising that their opinions of a subject may be conflicting. Neither side is wrong in their opinion. But one may call the other “not educated on the matter”. Really? What gives us the right to judge? Maybe we are the ignorant ones. Maybe they know something we don’t or we didn’t consider. Thus, this is why we should not judge others based on their opinions. Media make millions of dollars by bringing opposing opinions together. Media will paint a person into a monster, and we drink it up. Are other people really allowed to have their own opinions? Or do their opinions have to line up with ours?

Happiness is found in acceptance. Tolerance does not mean that I have to change. It means I do not change others. I have a very forward presence. When I talk, it is with a strong southern draw. So it is no surprise that I get called redneck or Bubba a lot. I get judged a lot too. People assume that because I talk slow, I think slow. Thankfully, that is far from the truth. I let people talk. People will say anything, if you let them. They also get offended when I’ve made my decision to no longer associate with them due to their inability to accept me for who I am. If someone cannot accept you for who you are, they do not need to be in your life. Yes, I have dropped a lot of people out of my life. In the long run, I am happier for it. Never compromise your happiness for the sake of someone else’s acceptance. Their acceptance should never come with a compromise. You are worth being accepted.  We should always make changes towards being better, but never compromise who we are.

Thank you for taking the time to read, and may we always accept people for who they are.

7 thoughts on “Accept And Be Happy

    arcade1775 said:
    June 6, 2015 at 11:52 am

    Reblogged this on arcade # 1775 and commented:
    reading through the blogs of others really helps, seeing that you are not alone in terms of handling life’s varied scenarios.

    Liked by 1 person

      stevenjcurtis responded:
      June 6, 2015 at 12:10 pm

      So true. This is one reason why I started blogging. I love reading others views. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        stevenjcurtis responded:
        June 6, 2015 at 5:18 pm

        I forgot to say thanks for the RB. I greatly appreciate it. 🙂

        Like

    sonniq said:
    June 6, 2015 at 3:32 pm

    Steve, reading your thoughts felt like reading myself. Your thoughts are very Buddhist, which I am. If you aren’t, your life philosophy found it’s way to the way I try to live my life. The only legacy one can leave behind when they leave this earth is the effect they had on other people. You already know that trying to make people believe the way you do, and being prejudiced against the people who don’t, never works and never will. You’d think more people would understand that by now. So I try to live my day and create as much value as I can and hope it affects someone else in a positive way. Thank you for helping me find your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    sonniq said:
    June 6, 2015 at 4:22 pm

    Reblogged this on Watch and Whirl and commented:
    ……I like the way this man thinks and believe. Would get benefit from what he has to say. He has many very good posts that make you suit and think about the way you view your life.

    Liked by 1 person

      stevenjcurtis responded:
      June 6, 2015 at 5:15 pm

      Thank you so much for the kind words. I greatly appreciate the RB. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        sonniq said:
        June 6, 2015 at 8:05 pm

        The pleasure was all mine!

        Like

Leave a Reply

