Learning To Slow Down

Posted on Updated on

Patience Can Be Theatrical

Here in the States, there is a commercial on TV that shows people yelling “It’s my money, I want it now.” If only it was that simple. Instant gratification seems to be taking the land by storm. Remember when we only had “snail mail” and it took a week to get a reply from a letter? Then email showed up and we could get a same day delivery. Then came texting and the dreaded question of “Why won’t you respond? I sent you a text 30 seconds ago.” Yep, we expect quicker results. Quality is sub-standardized now. And why not, everything is disposable. Why should quality matter? I can just go buy a new one if the old one breaks. Right? Would that apply to the safety harness that your son or daughter is wearing? Suddenly quality comes back into light.

I have worked hard on slowing down. My whole childhood I was taught to hurry up, you’re going to be late, stop straggling. I continued this pace when I got out on my own. Work, eat, sleep, repeat was my schedule. Then one day I stopped and asked myself, “What would happen if I stopped? What if I wasn’t in the grind? Would the machine stop?” No, the machine will find a replacement and keep on grinding. At that point of my life I felt disposable. I was working hard. I was keeping pace, I was surpassing my quotas. For what? To break my body? What good is a retirement if I can’t enjoy it because I’m broken? Keeping a fast pace will break us. We should slow down and take care of ourselves. Nobody is going to do it for us. I am not disposable. I am quality. I am not quantity. And the same applies to you.

Take the time to slow down and enjoy life. Life is easy, people make it difficult. Stop, and take the time to look around. Enjoy the scenery. While driving to work, slow down and look around. You will notice something new. Your stress will go down as well. People who are calm and relaxed are not tense and fidgety. There are times that a good fast pace is needed, but not all of the time. Learn to be more patient. Live life by the hour, then learn to live it by the minute. Are you tense right now? Are your teeth clenched? By placing the tongue slightly in between our front teeth, we can actually feel the jaw muscles relax more. Everything will happen on it’s own pace. If we hurry we won’t miss it. If we take our time we won’t miss it either. Plan to be slower. It may sound strange. “Won’t we produce less if we slow down?” Yes, but our quality will be better. And in the end, aren’t we all looking for a better quality of life?

Thank you for taking the time to read, and may we always take the time to stop and smell the roses.

9 thoughts on “Learning To Slow Down

    arcade1775 said:
    June 4, 2015 at 10:08 am

    Reblogged this on arcade # 1775 and commented:
    it just so happened that my meditation for yesterday was to improve quality of life. excellent post… ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    mstoywhisperer said:
    June 4, 2015 at 11:40 am

    Patience is a virtue. Virtue is a grace. All put together make a very pretty face. Tuesday’s child is full of grace.

    Liked by 1 person

    #Maesha - Ms Nightshade said:
    June 4, 2015 at 2:07 pm

    Hi Steven 🙂 … have you ever read the book The Power of Now, by Eckhart Tolle? It may be a bit more spirital in nature, but there’s a beauty in the idea of experiencing life as it happens not as it was or will be. This practice of slowing down is so very important. It helps expose the truly important things. Wonderful post!

    Liked by 1 person

      stevenjcurtis responded:
      June 4, 2015 at 2:13 pm

      I have not read this book, but I will look into it. Thanks for the book referral. 🙂

      Like

    Cassandra Ladd said:
    June 4, 2015 at 3:15 pm

    im so happy I found your blog. I read a few, this one was one of my favorite. Learning to slow down is something everyone needs to take a bite of 🙂

    Like

    understandingdee said:
    June 4, 2015 at 4:04 pm

    love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    jesusknowsmyname said:
    June 6, 2015 at 3:03 am

    I have rose bushes and I love to take time to smell them! Reminds me of the time my dad told me I needed to move faster… this coming from a man who had sat so long on a couch in the same spot for 20 years that the bottom was dragging the floor. Oy vey.

    Liked by 1 person

    sonniq said:
    June 6, 2015 at 4:08 pm

    What you said about letters. In cleaning out my garage recently, opening boxes of saved momentos I found a package of letters from long ago. Instant forgotten memories. There is something special about anticipating a letter and checking the mailbox. You’ve been to my blog. Most of the posts are letters from Jamie as he sits in prison. His handwriting tells me how he is. His emotional state comes through loud and clear. I know my letters help him through his solitude. I also write to a man in San Quentin, sitting on death row. Letters can bring comfort and friendships. Letters are read over and over. Quickly going through the days junk mail and seeing a letter makes walking to the mailbox worthwhile. I do send a lot of texts to people. Quick msgs and facebook replies, but these are forgotten and do not stand the test of time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

