Face Your Fears, But Know What You’re Facing

Posted on Updated on

Jumping from a 20 story building

We have been told to face our fears ever since we were young. We’ve even been told that there is nothing to fear except fear itself. These are good motivational and supportive dialogs to give, but they are not solid. It is my observation, we should ask “Why do we fear?” For me, I have a fear of falling. The doesn’t not mean that I am fearful of heights. As long as I have a safety line or guard rails, I know I’m safe. However, remove the safety line and/or guard rail and I become stricken with fear. It’s the sudden stop at the bottom of a free fall that drives this emotion.

Before I identified why I hated heights, I use to say that I feared heights. After working in a man-lift 50ft up in the air, I realized that I wasn’t scared up there at all. I was surrounded by railings and had a safety harness on just in case things went really bad. I questioned why I was scared. I sat down and identified all of the hazards. I noticed that free falling touched a nerve. I was afraid of being in the situation that would lead to me free falling from a great distance. Having time to think before reaching a great demise is not on my bucket list of things to do.

Fear is a survival instinct. When we experience it, it is important to analyze why we are afraid. Knowing what drives that emotion within us will allow us to negotiate that fear. I implore you not to just face your fears, or brush it off. Rather, take the time and understand “Why”. This, in itself, will the best approach when trying to get over a fear. I am still fearful of falling, but I have a better understanding of why, and I understand how to prevent an onset of that fear.

Thank you for taking the time to read, and may we always take the time to know our fears.

6 thoughts on “Face Your Fears, But Know What You’re Facing

    jsev said:
    June 3, 2015 at 12:49 pm

    Great text on an interesting topic! One should always have the time to ask the question why and find the answer in order to improve oneself. Happy to follow you!

    Liked by 1 person

    Linda Kruschke said:
    June 3, 2015 at 3:29 pm

    Good post. Can I suggest, however, that you fix the grammar error in your headline? It should be “you’re facing.” Keep up the good work. Peace, Linda

    Like

      stevenjcurtis responded:
      June 3, 2015 at 3:35 pm

      I didn’t even notice that. Thank you. I composed this during a 24 hour watch. Thought I had caught all of the mistakes 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        Linda Kruschke said:
        June 3, 2015 at 3:37 pm

        We often don’t see the errors in our own writing. I’m glad you appreciated the comment. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    margaretsdaughter said:
    June 3, 2015 at 9:41 pm

    Nice blog Steven, thanks for coming by and liking my blog. I’ll be back 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      stevenjcurtis responded:
      June 3, 2015 at 9:59 pm

      I look forward to reading more. Thanks for the kind words. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

