Budget Everything.

Posted on

Take time for yourself

We, in general, neglect ourselves a lot. We get wrapped up into our daily lives and forget that we need to tend to ourselves. It’s easier, for some of us, to help others instead of helping ourselves. Why is that? Do we not know that we need things too? I believe this stems from our childhood. We were taught it’s better to help others and to give to other. We, as humans, are naturally selfish. This is not a bad thing for survival purposes, but it is not needed as much in a society. There was a time that we needed to store, stock, and hoard everything. Winter was coming. But, those days are gone, and we still carry that instinct. So as a child we are told not to be selfish. We should share everything, Be social and interact with everyone. We are never taught to budget everything.

Take time for yourself. This may be 30 minutes after the kids go to bed, or an hour in the afternoon. This is the time to relax. Do not turn on the TV. Instead, read a book, do a little bit of needle pointing, or go golf 9 holes. The idea is that you have “you” time. Why did I mention “no TV”. There is not stimulus from watching TV. This “you time” is to be spent doing an activity. Yes, reading is stimulating.

Pay yourself. If money is tight start out with $25 a month. If you cannot afford that then make it $100 a month. This goes into savings, or an investment. Always set money aside for yourself. You are going to need it. Unexpected events will occur and having that cushion will lessen the stress. This money is for you and you alone. If you want to set money aside to help others, then start saving for them separately. Future-you will thank you. Trust me on this one.

Love who you are. You are you. Get over it. You are not me, him or her. And we are thankful for that. If you do not like who you are, then make a list of the things that you do not like. I use to hate the fact that I was always anger. So I wrote down “I hate that I’m always angry”. This opened a sub-list. Why am I always angry? I changed my eating habits, my friends, when I went to bed, when I got up, and my attitude. I forced myself to be happy. Sounds weird, but that’s what I had to do. I had to physically get use to being happy. The chemicals that your body produces are different when you’re angry as oppose to being happy. It’s a blah-blah science thing. Now, I am one of the most happiest (double superlative) person you will ever meet. No joke. Because this is who I wanted to be. My faith does play a huge part in it, but my drive to change who I was played a bigger part. We need to start loving who we are. We need to let go of the little things and just accept ourselves as others have accepted us. All too often, we are our biggest critics. It’s time to stop being so critical and be more accepting.

By budgeting these three things we will find our lives will be less stressful. We will have time for ourselves, which means we won’t mind spending time with others. We will have money when we need it. And lastly, we will love who we are. In the end we will be happier. Happiness lies within all of us. We have to nurture it and allow it to grow. Once it starts growing we will need to maintain it. Take the time and budget everything.

Thank you for taking the time to read this, and may we always include ourselves in our budget.

4 thoughts on “Budget Everything.

    storytim said:
    June 2, 2015 at 10:39 am

    Great stuff, so many people idiolise the wrong things. The mindset is often wrong when the majority get their pay. They say “look at all the stuff I can buy” instead they should say “ok now I can pay myself”

    Fantastic stuff Steven

    Tim 🙂

    Like

    Debby Carroll said:
    June 2, 2015 at 12:32 pm

    Include yourself in your budget! Brilliant. Thanks.

    Like

    lissymail said:
    June 2, 2015 at 4:05 pm

    really great ideas here: we do not often realize that we deserve to be appreciated, too. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    Enlightenment Angels said:
    June 2, 2015 at 4:23 pm

    Great words of life and making everyone think twice about including yourself in your budget and “Love who you are. You are you. Get over it.” We all tend to forget these aspects of life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

