Understanding Social and Personal Expectations.

Posted on

Two types of laws

It is common knowledge that one should not kill other people. We should not steal, nor should we tell lies. These are common standards that we all have. Specific standards consist of how we live our lives, and what we expect from ourselves. At no time should we ever enforce specific standards onto others. We all have specific standards that we hold ourselves up to. Most of the times these standards are derived from a mentor or role model that comes into our lives. This could be from our childhood or someone who we associate with. Whichever may be the case, these are our expectations of ourselves. We should never hold someone else to our standards. Would we expect a Maserati Ghibli to function as a Ford 750? People function in the same manner. Each of us have different talents and different abilities. We should never limit another person by imposing our standards on others. Likewise, we should never allow others to impose their specific standards onto us.

With that being said, as we interact with others, there will be common standards of a region that others will have for us. Unless we are willing to change, these standards should not compromise the standards that we have for ourselves. Being in the military I have changed my standards a lot. And, as I have grown older my standards have changed. In the end, we are in control of our self-expectations.

Now for the part that a lot of people have trouble with. Their specific standards are not our standards. People have no right to force their standards onto us. We are to treat each other equally. Never force someone to change just because they do not meet our expectations. We have no right to judge someone or label others. I see this a lot with tattoos. I do not have any tattoos or piercings. People will assume that because I don’t have any tattoos that I am against having them. In truth, I love tattoos, just not on me. I love being a blank canvass. That’s me in a nutshell. The potentials are endless. Should someone hold it against me because I don’t have tattoos? Should I be judged for not putting a design on my skin? Most people would answer no. Then, is it right if I judge other for having them? This too is a no.

These two types of standards are basic human laws. There are the laws that we hold ourselves accountable for, and the laws that everyone is held accountable for. These laws are standards. By adhering to this basic concept we avoid trespassing on each other. We can learn to live together in unison with everyone living up to their own specific standards, but maintaining the common standards. This is how we maintain happiness in a society. We live, love, and learn. It’s easy to judge others for who they are, but it’s wise to accept others for who they are.

Thank you for taking the time to read this, and may we always live up to our standards, and allow others to live up to theirs.

3 thoughts on “Understanding Social and Personal Expectations.

    nombre de la pluma said:
    June 1, 2015 at 2:21 pm

    I used to be judgemental as hell. But as I grew up and failed to meet my own expectations that I was lording over people, feeling all superior, I quit. But it took me a long time to realize what a mess I was, and to realize that we’re all the same and no one is perfect, least of all, myself. Realizing that helped me to really love people. I still have the same truth hanging over my head as everyone else, but I don’t have that judgemental chip on my shoulder, that “holier than thou” complex. Thank God. Sometimes my attitude about other people still sucks, but at least it doesn’t all the time any more.

    It’s double edged though, no one has the right to force their standards on me either. I don’t have to celebrate when someone does or says something I believe in my heart is morally wrong.
    ~DM

    Liked by 1 person

    Malory Columbretis said:
    June 1, 2015 at 4:56 pm

    Reblogged this on Waves Without Sounds and commented:
    “Their specific standards are not our standards. People have no right to force their standards onto us. We are to treat each other equally.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

