Nineteen Eighty-Four Again

Posted on Updated on

1984 read it again for the very first time

I remember reading this book in middle school. At the time, it was a class assignment and my opinion on it was like every other class assignment, blah blah blah. Fast forward to the present era where I love to collect books. I especially look for 1920-ish -1940-ish first editions. Nobody wants to read those old books. Nobody but me. There was a certain mind set back then, that peaks my interest. We began to question how much control is too much control. Self help books were a big hit, and everyone was depressed. There is knowledge in these books that is not taught today.

So a couple of years ago I found a 1949 edition for $5.00 online. I began to read it again for the first time. This time I actually wanted to experience the book. The more I read this book, the more I could actually see this happening around me. Media has become Big Brother. Media is the Newspeak.

This book is a cautionary tale of a time and place that has the probability of becoming reality. Allowing someone to control our lives will not bring happiness. We control our happiness. Sometimes we need to step back and take a look at what we are doing. We need to ask “Why are we doing it?” We should never do something for the sake of doing it. That’s how people get taken advantage of. History has taught us this time and time again.

It may sound crazy, but I even questioned why I got angry or upset at other people’s actions. I learnt that I was wasting a lot of energy getting upset over something that I could not control. This is not a healthy path to happiness. Yes, people still do things that annoy me, but I no longer get upset. Like water on a duck’s back, I let it roll right off. It took some practice, but I got it down pretty good. I am the only person responsible for my happiness. If I am not happy, it’s my fault. The manner in which I handle every situation is in my hands. It’s call taking responsibility.

You have the choice to be happy. Happiness is not something to pursue. It’s a state of being. All that you have to do is choose to be happy. Choose how you will react. In doing so you will become a role model for others. Everyone wants to be happy.

Thank you for taking the time to read, and may we always be in control of our happiness.

7 thoughts on “Nineteen Eighty-Four Again

    SoulCrayons said:
    May 30, 2015 at 11:54 am

    First off, it’s fun, like a treasure, to discover a book we want and at a bargain! I own that book and our kid put on the theatrical production of it, done with a twist. Regarding control of emotions, yes I wish I had more control, but that is over emotions that affect others. Sometimes, my spontaneity is misinterpreted which makes me sad, because it is just “me”, not an affront to those I love. (For business or friends I just reign in the emotions and do not express them. My outlets are art and writing or exercise.) I wonder if too much control takes away from happiness? To me, happiness is not consistently elicited through my own actions. It can be, yet it also can just happen. What are your thoughts?

    Liked by 1 person

      stevenjcurtis responded:
      May 30, 2015 at 12:21 pm

      Reality is 100% perception. Happiness is our enjoyment of that perception. If we are not happy we can change environment or change our perception. That’s how happiness works. (for me.) 🙂

      Like

    SoulCrayons said:
    May 30, 2015 at 1:37 pm

    Ah, this sounds like the philosophical debates I have with my adult child. Good point!

    Like

    tinakmeyer said:
    May 30, 2015 at 1:44 pm

    Amen to all of that! I love 1984. Scarily prophetic – if only we had listened.

    Liked by 1 person

    10000hoursleft said:
    May 30, 2015 at 11:46 pm

    I was only recently thinking I’d like to read it again from a more experienced and life lived perspective. I don’t think I could have truly appreciated it when I read it in high school (voluntarily, not for class). I agree with your thoughts on happiness- we can control only how we react to situations. Easier said than done though! p.s. piqued 🙂

    Like

    terence said:
    May 31, 2015 at 5:59 pm

    So many distractions, but may we always CHOOSE to be happy. thanks for following my blog and nice to read your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    exoligu said:
    June 1, 2015 at 1:50 pm

    A great book that reminds us how important is out freedom. I think it is worth reading it on an annually basis. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

