I am not people.

Posted on Updated on

Life is easy

When faced with a situation, attitude makes all the difference. Our mental disposition on a matter determines whether we enjoy or loathe an event. The same can be said about accepting others. The best part about being in the military is that we get to meet people from all walks of life. I have learnt what type of people that I am most compatible with and what types I have to pace myself with. It would be boring if my life was filled with only one type of person.  So how am I able to accept people for who they are?

Let’s take off the rose shade glasses for a bit. We annoy people. Believe it or not, not everyone finds us funny, witty, or even nice. Yes, there are people out there that we will offend just by waking up, and that’s OK. I once had a supervisor that said nothing but critical things. She was not happy with anything I did, or so it seemed. I asked her one day why she was always negative. She stated that her job was to correct me when I was doing something wrong. Turns out she had a hard time giving out compliments. From that point on I never expected a compliment from her. She was a good leader and never steered me wrong. By looking past the fact that she never paid compliments, I was able to become a better technician. I learnt a lot from her.

We should learn to accept people for who the are. If a person has a negative attitude we should not let that affect our attitude. When children throw temper tantrums, there is a part of me that smiles. I don’t mean it in a bad manner, but I imagine myself doing that. There is nothing like a 40 years old man stomping off, yelling “I don’t want to do the report.” Likewise, when adults get upset, I let them. I don’t need to get upset with them. I just wait till they cool down then approach them again. Never take a persons attitude personally. It may be their character to act the way they do. We all have different lives, and we have learnt different ways to deal with the same problem. Why should I hold that against them? I shouldn’t.

Life is too short to sweat over little stuff. I am not going to please everyone. I am good with that. People are going to cut me off while driving. That’s fine. Maybe they just bought that SUV and are still adjusting from the compact they traded in. I don’t yell obscenities at them. Instead, I adjust my distance and carry on. Life is easy, it’s people that make it hard. If I see something wrong, I fix it. If I see someone needing help, I assist. People say “It’s not my problem.” People do not lend a helping hand. I am not people.

Thank you for taking the time to read, and may we never take someone’s attitude personally.

7 thoughts on “I am not people.

    kay990 said:
    May 28, 2015 at 11:02 am

    Reblogged this on ForeverbyKay and commented:
    I really enjoyed reading this post 🙂 exactly what I needed today …. “Never take a persons attitude personally”

    Like

    assortmentbox said:
    May 28, 2015 at 11:42 am

    Very true 🙂

    Like

    Amanda said:
    May 29, 2015 at 12:23 am

    Great post!

    Like

    sabinecausey said:
    May 29, 2015 at 10:34 am

    I wish I wasn’t people either..

    Liked by 1 person

    ~Michelle Cook said:
    May 31, 2015 at 3:04 am

    Well said!

    Liked by 1 person

    awsadnan said:
    June 1, 2015 at 12:33 pm

    Well said

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

