Pride Is A Used Car Salesman

Posted on Updated on

something to sell

Pride is defined as a deep satisfaction in our achievements. Moms and Dads, you are in the business of selling. Have you ever has the pleasure of selling the idea of being potty trained to a two year old. Yup, those selling skills will be put to the test. The best results are reached when the child learns how happy we are when they say “I did it.” This is one of the first actions that we learn and become proud of.

Pride in our work is what drives the quality of work we produce. The more pride we have, the better the quality. This is also true in making major purchases. There are major goals in life that we want.These serve as mile markers of our success. With each achievement more pride and self-satisfaction is built.

Pride in our disposition with our peer group actually matters. People may say they don’t care what others think, but get a group of people to pat a person on the back and say “Great job!” and that person feels great. We love that feeling, even if we don’t like the spotlight. This is where I jump back into the sales talk again. Sales reps know that we like a pat on the back. They will explain how their product can get you that recognition you deserve. Deserve? Did I work hard? Did I put in my time, or did I look good and looked as though I did? Our pride can allow us to sell false goals and achievement to ourselves. Our pride will measure us up against others and show how we are better than others, and we deserve more.  “Because I am better than you,”

Pride without humility makes us overbearing. Humility without pride makes us subservient. Pride is not a bad thing. Too much of anything is a bad thing. We need to learn this balance. I am a happier man because of this. I know that I am better than no one, and no one is better than I am. I keep my pride in check, as well as my humility. We can only be sold what we are willing to buy. Take the time to check what we are  selling to ourselves. Sometime, we are our own worse salesman.

Thanks for taking the time to read, and may we always profit from what we sell to ourselves.

One thought on “Pride Is A Used Car Salesman

    ofchocolateandlemons said:
    May 24, 2015 at 4:58 am

    Reblogged this on ofchocolateandlemons and commented:
    Pride without humility makes us overbearing. Humility without pride is subservient.

    I shall definitely take care to remember this. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

