Loving myself

Posted on Updated on

image

As a child, I was told that I was not special. I was average. I had no special skills that set me apart from others. Surprisingly, this was not only stated by my mother but by others around me. For the longest time I believed them. This is why it was easy for me to love others, but hard to love myself.

I learned to watch people. I sat quietly and observed their actions. I came to the conclusion that they were no better than I was. I had just as much talent as the next person. In fact, we all averaged out to being equal. Nobody was anymore powerful than the next person. I was better than no one, and no one was better than I was. This became a motto that I said over and over.

I believe we are all equal. We are all human. If I am to love everyone, then I must include myself. Yes, I am humble, polite, and cordial. This does not mean that I sacrifice myself at the expense of others. I noticed, as I changed, some around me were upset at my actions. They voiced their thoughts, asking why I was giving myself such attention. “I deserve it.” was my reply, and I do. We all do. I implore you to set as much time for yourself, as you do for others. That balance is important.

As I get older I find myself being more happy. Satisfaction comes easier. It may have something to do with the fact that my expectations are lower. But, I’d like to think that the time I set aside for myself helps me find my own happiness. I’m able to focus on myself. This is the time that I define my desire, write them down, and conspire on making that desire a reality. I tell myself that I am worth the time that I invest into myself. We all are. Love everyone without neglecting yourself.

Thanks for reading, and may we always find time for ourselves.

3 thoughts on “Loving myself

    Henri Thibodeau said:
    May 13, 2015 at 2:17 pm

    “… as I changed, some around me were upset at my actions” – this is a normal reaction when we start coming out of the (blind-)fold; it is meant to hold us back, but you kept striving forward and are finding happiness; I followed the same path, realizing along the way that I am a spiritual being having a human experience, as we all are. God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

    jaque said:
    May 15, 2015 at 11:15 am

    you know why average people tend to be good in resilience? ’cause they have one good characteristic- being observant. I myself was like a jack of all trades and master of none plus it sucks to be the “stupid” in the family but it taught me how to deal with life and people a little better from the rest. I still do believe that average people are more capable of happier and better lives.

    Liked by 1 person

    Ngobesing Romanus said:
    May 16, 2015 at 2:35 pm

    A lovely post. Thank God you had a strong mind and did not allow the negative evaluation of others get into your mind. Bravo. You are definitely set for a great destination. I agree. Love everyone without neglecting yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

